Joy of the Pen





Submissions are open from September 2, 2023 to October 7, 2023. Any submissions before or after this date will be deleted unread.

Join us on November 21, 2023 at 6PM for a reception to celebrate the winners.

Maine is a state full of writers, whether it is the natural beauty of the terrain that is inspirational or something within the temperament of the artist that is drawn to the independent spirit of the place, there is a long tradition of authors residing here. Joy of the Pen is a wonderful platform to show off their talent and to provide a community event to bring everyone together.

This year, we awarded the following prizes, sponsored by The Cryer: The Verdi L. Tripp Fiction Award, Margaret F. Tripp Poetry Award and Richard F. Snow Nonfiction Award. We also awarded Honorable Mentions in Fiction, Poetry and Nonfiction, sponsored by the Friends of The Topsham Public Library and Teen Awards and Honorable Mentions are sponsored by TPL Teen Scene. New in 2022, Short Play award sponsored by The Crowbait Club. You can read the winning entries and author bios, watch readings and much, much more on the online Joy of the Pen Literary Journal.

  • The competition is open to year-round residents of Maine and for unpublished work only.

Please visit the online Joy of the Pen Literary Journal for more information.  You’ll also find a full description, winning entries, photos, audio clips of readings, and author bios.  Subscribe via email to stay up to date on the latest news.


Contact Emma for more details about this annual writing competition…

Congratulations to the 2022 Winners!

The Verdi L. Tripp Fiction Award: Jim Mentink for “The Seminar”
Fiction Honorable Mention: Lorelei Greenwood-Jones for “Candy House”
Margaret F. Tripp Poetry Award: David Sloan for “Solo”
Poetry Honorable Mention: Cynthia Larson for “Perhaps to Dream”
Richard F. Snow Nonfiction Award: Nancy Browne for “Ricky Rivers”
Nonfiction Honorable Mention: John Reinhart for “Traveling by Platypus”
The Crowbait Short Play Award: Greg Simpson for “3 Hail Mary’s”
Short Play Honorable Mention: Fred Cheney for “Danced to the Fiddle”
TPL Teen Fiction Award: Charlotte Schatz for “To Lend a Hand”
TPL Kids Poetry Award: Luisa Feliciano for “Crow”