The annual Joy of the Lens exhibit, inaugurated in 2009, features original photographs by current Maine residents, both amateur and professional, aged 16 or older. The three entry categories are: Color, Black & White, and a special “Challenge” posed by the previous year’s winner of the Peoples’ Choice Award. Awards are made in all three categories with an additional Peoples’ Choice Award announced at the close of the exhibit. This signature event is co-sponsored by the Trustees and the Friends of the Topsham Public Library.

March 26 to April 29, 2022


Registration for Joy of the Lens 2022 opens on February 1, 2022.  Please check back then for more details. In the meantime, you may enjoy viewing the virtual 2021 Joy of the Lens in Topsham Public Library’s virtual gallery.


Congratulations to the 2021 Joy of the Lens Award Winners!

PEOPLE’S CHOICE: Alewives Journey by Deborah Dean
COLOR: Willow in Winter by Corrie Zacharias
BLACK & WHITE: A Pandemic Photographer Emerges by Norma Warden
MOLLY’S CHALLENGE – Unexpected Beauty: Lunch break, reading by Peter Felsenthal

2nd Place

COLOR: Alewives Journey by Deborah Dean
BLACK & WHITE: 2020 by Scott Anderson
MOLLY’S CHALLENGE – Unexpected Beauty: Eroding Shores by Craig Snapp

2021 Friends Photo Lottery

Rob Smith has graciously donated his photograph, “Relentless Seas”, for the Friends Photo Lottery. If you aren’t a member and would like a chance to win this beautiful photograph, join the Friends before May 8th at or stop by the library. The drawing will be held on May 8, 2021. All current members of the Friends of TPL are automatically entered into the drawing.

Congratulations to the 2020 People’s Choice Winner

Molly Hogan for “Look Closely”
Molly Hogan: Look Closely

NOTE: The 2020 Joy of the Lens was virtual due to Covid-19 and was not juried, thus there are no winners to announce.

Congratulations to the 2019 Joy of the Lens Award Winners!

  • PEOPLES’ CHOICE AWARD:  Scott Anderson for “Salt Fog, Bailey Island” (Black & White)
  • COLOR:  Jack Sharkey for “Katahdin Stream Falls”
  • BLACK & WHITE:  Wayne Fournier for “The Last One”
  • MIKE’S CHALLENGE – “LEADING LINES” :  Linda Cullivan for “Spiral”

Honorable  Mentions:

  • COLOR: Linda Cullivan for “Frozen”
  • BLACK & WHITE:  Jack Sharkey for “DDG-116”
  • MIKE’S CHALLENGE – “LEADING LINES” : Craig Snapp for “Ice Bridge to Spruce Island”

The theme of “LEADING LINES” was selected by the 2018 Peoples’ Choice Award winner,  Mike Cullivan.