The annual Joy of the Lens exhibit, inaugurated in 2009, features original photographs by current year-round Maine residents, both amateur and professional, aged 16 or older. The three entry categories are: Color, Black & White, and a special “Challenge” posed by the previous year’s winner of the Peoples’ Choice Award. Awards are made in all three categories with an additional Peoples’ Choice Award announced at the close of the exhibit. This signature event is co-sponsored by the Trustees and the Friends of the Topsham Public Library.


At the Photographers’ Reception on Saturday, April 6, 2019, award winners were announced in three categories: Color, Black & White, and “Leading Lines,” the theme challenge selected by Mike Cullivan, winner of the 2018 People’s Choice Award.  We enjoyed refreshments, community, conversation, and, of course, inspiring photography!

At the Photographers Talk on Saturday, May 4, 2019 at 11:00 AM we heard from the award-winning photographers, learned the winner of the People’s Choice Award, and held the Friends Photo Lottery where two lucky members of the Friends of the Topsham Public Library won special photographs donated by Linda and Mike Cullivan:  Linda’s “Gannet Eyes”  and Mike’s “Cormorant Eye.

The work of Joy of the Lens 2019 award-winners, along with the work of Joy of Art 2019 award-winners, will be included in an exhibit from August 21 to September 19, 2019 at the Topsham Public Library.

Congratulations to the 2019 Joy of the Lens Award Winners!

  • PEOPLES’ CHOICE AWARD:  Scott Anderson for “Salt Fog, Bailey Island” (Black & White)
  • COLOR:  Jack Sharkey for “Katahdin Stream Falls”
  • BLACK & WHITE:  Wayne Fournier for “The Last One”
  • MIKE’S CHALLENGE – “LEADING LINES” :  Linda Cullivan for “Spiral”

Honorable  Mentions:

  • COLOR: Linda Cullivan for “Frozen”
  • BLACK & WHITE:  Jack Sharkey for “DDG-116”
  • MIKE’S CHALLENGE – “LEADING LINES” : Craig Snapp for “Ice Bridge to Spruce Island”

The theme of “LEADING LINES” was selected by the 2018 Peoples’ Choice Award winner,  Mike Cullivan.

For photographers: Registration for Joy of the Lens 2020 is expected to start in February 2020.  In the meantime, printable guidelines with specifications for framing and hanging and key dates for Joy of the Lens 2019 can be found here: Joy of the Lens 2019-Guidelines-FINAL.